Express Yourself & Listen to Others

2

Posted by msmartaPS1 | Posted in School goals | Posted on December 17, 2014

This month’s school goal is to express ideas, thoughts and feelings in a variety of ways and listen appropriately to others. The two slogans we are using for this school goal are: Express yourself everyday & Listen with your brain, ears, eyes and heart 😉

5-EXPRESS-YOURSELFListen-with-your-heart-1

Our students are doing a great job preparing our school ASSEMBLY which will be held on Friday 19th, before Christmas Holidays. They are showing that, as we are all different, we are good at different things and we have different ways to express our ideas and feelings.

These are some examples of our students’ abilities and their preferences to express their thoughts:

Riley: “I love talking and sharing my ideas talking to my friends”

Irene: “I love writing stories where I can let my imagination fly…”

Da Eun: “I love music! When I’m feeling a little bit moody, I like playing my violin.”

Kith: “I enjoy doing class presentations because I can express my ideas and thoughts about something. This is our class presentation about endangered animals.” photo4

Malika: “I love drawing… I express my feelings in my drawings”.

Samady: “I dance when I’m happy.”

Jessie & Hui Sang: “We love singing!”

Phalratht: “I love laughing and sharing my happiness with my friends.”

Because we have different nationalities and languages in our class, languages play a very important part of our daily life, both at school and home. Our students love languages and, because they know I love them too and I can speak other languages, they always ask me how to say this or that in French or Spanish or Chinese… We have learnt a useful expression every month since we started this school year.

September: “On y va!”, which means “Let’s go” in French. We use it when we come back from the playground 🙂

October: “Hao de” (好的), meaning “OK” in Mandarin.

November: “Grazie” (Thanks in Italian)

AND… in December, we’ve learnt a Christmas song in 3 languages: English, Spanish & French: “Jingle Bells, Vive le Vent, Navidad…” They love it! And it will be part of our assembly this month.

I’ve noticed they are becoming more aware of languages and how the same thing can be expressed in another language. For instance, when we were studying shapes in Math, they learnt where the words for shapes come from (“polygon”, coming from Greek and meaning “many sides”). When we were studying “Homophones” in English, they learnt the meaning of this word, also coming from Greek (1 sound) 🙂

This has awaken their interest about other languages and cultures, and it also means I can share my passion about it with them.

To close this post, let us show you some of the posters we’ve done for our assembly!

photophoto3

 

photo2

 

… If they are not listening at home, you can use the magic words:

“STOP WHAT YOU ARE DOING, LOOK AND LISTEN!”

Thank you for reading this post and following our journey through Grade 3! Your comments and ideas are much appreciated.

:-)))

Ms. Marta

 

 

Comments (2)

Hello Ms Marta and Grade 3 class.
Thank you for sharing your class activities it is very interesting and i love to see some of your art works and ideas. Keep up the good work and have a lovely 2 week holiday.
Thanks.

Thank you for sharing your school work and activities. My husband and I look forward to reading each new post.

Happy Holidays!

Write a comment

Skip to toolbar